Barnett and Oosthuizen win PDF Print E-mail
Written by Paul Bedford   
Friday, 01 January 2010 23:13

Dave Barnett & Tjaart OosthuizenDave Barnett hit the beach at the Strand today at the head of the field after five days of racing to claim his seventh Trans Agulhas victory with co-pilot Tjaart Oosthuizen. The South African based Australian brought his Battery Energy Drink / AAD Nissan boat home over forty minutes ahead of his closest challengers in the modified class Andre Erasmus and Ryk Lombaard in the AE Electrical boat.

Wimpie Ackermann and Whitey Louw (Imperial Cargo) had a comfortable win in the blueprint class finishing over twenty minutes ahead of the Blush / Bon Courage team of Wilhelm Rabie and Nicolaas de Villiers.

Jacques Matthee became the youngest winner of the standard class when he and Carlo Watkins piloted their PH Plant Hire boat to victory ahead of Rianto van Niekerk and ohann Janse van Rensburg (Rocket Trading / Vega Graphics).

Adrian Farrell and Andre Augustinho (Stingray Viking) must have thought they had the novice class victory in the bag as they approched the finish line at the Strand but a momentary lapse of concentration saw them flip and the battle was on to get their boat upright and underway again before Johan-Hugo Reineke and Almaro Barnard (Crystal Cool Logistics) made up the deficit. The SANDF team kept their cool, got their boat going again and went on to victory much to delight of the large crowd.