Third day of circuit racing PDF Print E-mail
Written by Paul Bedford   
Monday, 13 December 2010 17:31

The final day of circuit racing in the Red Square 2010 Inflatable World Championship took place at Loch Vaal earlier today. In the modified class Barry Marx and Yolandi van Dijk had not been beaten in the previous two days and today was no different, although Carl Talbot and Jasme Jordaan did come very close on a couple of occasions.

Consistent driving by Formyn and Beatrix de Kok gave them the final podium position for the day. If Rocco Erasmus and Yvette le Grange had not hit a turn buoy in one of the heats, resulting in their disqualification from that heat, they would have finished better than the fourth place they were credited with.

A similar misfortune befell Lars Nilsson and Siyabonga Nkumbi who ended the day in fifth. Collin Gaffney and Bongani Ndesi had a day they will prefer to forget. Engine problems, then and unexpected swim for Ndesi, meant they ended in sixth.


Des Potgieter and Ruan van Tonder took another hat-trick of heat wins in the blueprint class to claim overall victory. Some of the day’s closest racing took place just behind them, with any one of three crews in line for second place. In the end dZjan Schutte and Anzel Janse van Vuuren ended in second ahead of Leon Kruger and Tiaan Janse van Rensburg. Hilton Otto and Rudi van Wyk had to settle for fourth.

The Swedish pair of Peter Reis and Dennis S Reis came home in fifth ahead of Team Ireland’s Sean Dillon and Gary Hogg.

Swedes Tobias Vikstrom and Mattias Jarvi have been improving with each passing day but could not quite get the better of Gordon and Donovan Butler in the standard class. Esli Berry and Monica Fouche ended the day in third place.

Raynard Berry and Riaan Keyser finished fourth ahead of the Irish duo of Keith Plummer and Lee Casey. Richard Horwell and Keith Holland were classified sixth ahead of Tertius Bothma and Monique la Grange.