South Africans victorious in first round of circuit racing PDF Print E-mail
Written by Paul Bedford   
Saturday, 11 December 2010 19:17

Lars Nillson & Siybonga NkumbiSouth African crews top the points tables in all three classes after the first day of circuit racing in the Red Square 2010 Inflatable World Championship. Barry Marx and Jolandi van Dijk lead the modified class, dZjan Schutte and Anzel Janse van Vuuren the blueprints with Gordon and Donovan Butler heading the standard class table.

Barry Marx and Yolandi van Dijk put the engine problems they suffered in yesterday’s longhaul race behind them, taking victory in all three of today’s modified class heats. Two second places and a four position gave Swede Las Nillson and Siybonga Nkumbi second overall for the day with steady drives from yesterday’s winners, Formyn and Beatrix de Kok, ensuring third overall.

In the blueprint class dZjan Schutte and Anzel Janse van Vuuren were just beaten to the flag in the final heat, but wins in the first two made sure they took the overall victory for the day. Leon Kruger and Tiaan Janse van Rensburg ended the day in second with Hilton Otto and Rudi van Wyk taking the final podium position.

Brothers Gordon and Donovan Butler blotted their perfect record in the third heat, a spin dropping them down to seventh place. They did take the overall win however, thanks to their victories in the first two heats. Second, on a count out, were Tertius Bothma and Monique la Grange while Elsi Berry and Monica Fouche ended the day in third.