Powerboat South Africa
Longhaul win for Formyn and Beatrix de Kok PDF Print E-mail
Written by Paul Bedford   
Friday, 10 December 2010 16:15

Formyn & Beatrix de KokSouth Africa drew first blood at the opening round of the 2010 Red Square P750 Inflatable World Championships on the Vaal River earlier today when Formyn and Beatrix took a comfortable win in the Longhaul event.

Reigning South African champion Barry Marx, with Jolandi van Dijk alongside him as co-pilot, opened up a substantial early lead but electrical problems put paid to his victory chances. The husband and wife de Kok team moved into the lead and were never challenged on the way to the end of the 120km long race.

Carl Talbot and Jasme Jordaan came home in second place two and a half minutes behind the winners. Swedish pilot Lars Nilsson, who had Siyabonga Nkubi alongside him as co-pilot, was the first of the international drivers in third place. Fourth place went to another international competitor, Ireland's Colin Gaffney who was accompanied by Bongani Ndesi. Marx and van Dijk solved their ignition problems and got going again but the time they lost meant they finished at the back of the modified field.

P750 Inflatable World Championship returns to South Africa PDF Print E-mail
Written by Paul Bedford   
Wednesday, 08 December 2010 10:15

The South African Inflatable Boat Association (SAIBA), an affiliate of Powerboat South Africa (PSA), will be hosting the Red Square 2010 P750 Inflatable World Championship during December 2010. The hosting rights were awarded to South Africa following the very successful 2009 event which was held in Port Elizabeth.

The multi-discipline event will start at the Emerald Resort & Casino on the Vaal River on Friday, 10 December 2010 when the 120km Longhaul event takes place. The circuit racing discipline will take place at the Loch Vaal Club from 10th to 13th December before the competitors move to Durban for the surf races which will be held at Battery Beach from 16th to 18th December 2010.

An opening ceremony, during which colours will be presented to the South African team members, will take place at the Emerald Resort & Casino on Thursday, 9 December 2010.

P750 Inflatable Boat racing is run in three classes and World Champions in each class will be crowned at the closing ceremony in Durban on the evening of 18 December.

The three classes are:

  • P750 Standard – Powered by a standard 50hp outboard motor with no performance enhancements and limited to rev at a maximum of 6000 RPM.
  • P750 Blueprint – Powered by a 50hp outboard motor that has been bought to original factory specification (or “Blueprint”)
  • P750 Modified – Powered by an outboard motor with an original capacity of not more than 750cc. Extensive modifications are permitted.

With confirmed entries from Sweden and Ireland, the South African competitors will have to be at their best to defend the titles they won in Port Elizabeth last year.


Page 2 of 2