Fetherstonhaugh back on top PDF Print E-mail
Written by Paul Bedford   
Tuesday, 29 September 2009 20:23

Tim FetherstonhaughTim Fetherstonhaugh made sure of his first overall Formula 1 win in two years when he took all three heat wins at the Parys Golf & Country Estate on the Vaal River. The Port Alfred based driver made his intentions clear on Saturday afternoon when he needed just one lap to claim pole position for the Phakisa Formula 1 Powerboat grand Prix, the second round of the 2009/10 South African F1 Championship. Brett Stuart's gave him second on the grid with Norwegian Marit Strømøy less than a tenth of a second behind in third.

Elzane de Jager set the fourth fastest time but broke a crank on her second run around the course. The resulting engine change dropped her down the grid and promoted Robert Shepard to fourth with Steven Zungu and Andre Kemp Snr the only other drivers to set qualifying times.

In Sunday’s first heat Fetherstonhaugh had a comfortable win. Stuart, who had been the only driver that was anywhere near the leader, collided with Zungu while the latter was being lapped.The damage to Stuart's propellor saw him slow dramatically and he just managed to hang on to second place, finishing less than a boat length ahead of Strømøy. Elzane de Jager moved up from near the back of the field to end in fourth with Shepard and Zungu behind her. Kemp managed to hold off newcommer Wynand de Jager to claim seventh with Terri Mitchell, racing in an unfamiliar boat, the last official finisher.Fetherstonhaugh took another flag-to-flag win in the second heat ahead of Strømøy, Elzane de Jager and Robert Shepard. Stuart crossed the line in fifth but was excluded from the results as he had dislodged a course buoy during the race. Wynand de Jager was credited with fifth place ahead of Kemp and Mitchell.

Fetherstonhaugh, Strømøy and Elzane de Jager again filled the top three positions in the third heat. Stuart, who had to start from the back of the grid, fought his way through the field to fourth ahead of Shepard, Kemp, Mitchell and Wynand de Jager.

Tim Fetherstonhaugh’s three heat wins gave him the overall victory in the Phakisa F1 Powerboat Grand Prix ahead of Marit Strømøy and Elzane de Jager. Brett Stuart ended the day fourth ahead of Robert Shepard and Andre Kemp Snr. Wynand de Jager’s first Grand Prix ended with a seventh overall ahead of Terri Mitchell and Steven Zungu.

After two rounds of the 2009/10 championship Elzane de Jager has a slender two point lead over Tim Fetherstonhaugh with Brett Stuart three points further back.