Fetherstonhaugh back on top PDF Print E-mail
Written by Paul Bedford   
Tuesday, 29 September 2009 20:23

Tim FetherstonhaughTim Fetherstonhaugh made sure of his first overall Formula 1 win in two years when he took all three heat wins at the Parys Golf & Country Estate on the Vaal River. The Port Alfred based driver made his intentions clear on Saturday afternoon when he needed just one lap to claim pole position for the Phakisa Formula 1 Powerboat grand Prix, the second round of the 2009/10 South African F1 Championship. Brett Stuart's gave him second on the grid with Norwegian Marit Strømøy less than a tenth of a second behind in third.

Elzane de Jager set the fourth fastest time but broke a crank on her second run around the course. The resulting engine change dropped her down the grid and promoted Robert Shepard to fourth with Steven Zungu and Andre Kemp Snr the only other drivers to set qualifying times.

Elzane de Jager wins season opener PDF Print E-mail
Written by Paul Bedford   
Thursday, 03 September 2009 14:29
Elzane de JagerDespite a few mistakes, Elzane de Jager showed why she is regarded as one of South Africa's best drivers when she won Vaal River Carnival Emerald F1 Powerboat Grand Prix on Sunday. In a fitting end to Women's Month, Elzane became the first female to take an overall victory in a South African Formula 1 Championship event.

Brett Stuart on top of the time sheets in qulaifying on Saturday afternoon just ahead of Tim Fetherstonhaugh, who was making a welcome return to the F1 grid. Norwegian visitor Marit Strømøy lost the initial battle of the fairer sex, qualifying just behind Elzane. Steven Zungu ended the session fifth ahead of Robert Shepard. Terri Mitchell, the third lady on the grid, set the seventh fastest time. An overnight engine change resulted in Shepard having to move to the back of the grid.

Brett Stuart used his pole position to good advantage at the beginning of the first heat and set about building a comfortable lead. A minor coming together between Elzane de Jager and Tim Fetherstonhaugh at the second turn buoy allowed Marit Strømøy to slip past de Jager and take third behind Fetherstonhaugh. Stuart looked to be headed for a comfortable win when engine problems forced him to slow. He dropped down the field eventually crossing the line in fourth place behind Fetherstonhaugh, Strømøy and de Jager. Robert Shepard end the best of the rest ahead of Steven Zungu, Andre Kemp Snr and Terri Mitchell.